Connect with us

Public Holidays

Public holidays celebrated in Spain include a mix of religious (Roman Catholic), national and regional observances. Each municipality is allowed to declare a maximum of 14 public holidays per year; up to nine of these are chosen by the national government and at least two are chosen locally. If one of the nine “national holidays” falls on a Sunday, the regional governments — the autonomous communities of Spain — can choose its replacement, or can let local authorities choose on their own. In practice, barring holidays falling on Sunday, the regional governments can pick up to three holidays per year; they also can deliberately choose fewer than three to allow for more options at the local level.

National holidays

Date English name Spanish name
January 1 New Year’s Day Año Nuevo
moveable Good Friday Viernes Santo
May 1 Labor Day Día del Trabajador
August 15 Assumption of Mary Asunción
October 12 Hispanic Day (Columbus Day) Día de la Hispanidad or Fiesta Nacional de España, Spain’s national day
November 1 All Saints Day Día de todos los Santos
December 6 Constitution Day Día de la Constitución
December 8 Immaculate Conception Inmaculada Concepción
December 25 Christmas Day Navidad

Regional holidays

Days celebrating the culture of individual regions are celebrated in Andalucía (Día de Andalucía, February 28), Aragón (Día de Aragón, April 23), Asturias (Día de Asturias, September 8), the Balearic Islands (Dia de les Illes Balears, March 1), the Canary Islands (Día de las Canarias, May 30), Castile-La Mancha (Día de la Región Castilla-La Mancha, May 31), Castile and León (Día de Castilla y León, April 23), Catalonia (Festa Nacional de Catalunya, September 11), Euskadi, TheBasque Country ( Aberri Eguna – Basque national day and a public holiday , 26 February), Extremadura (Día de Extremadura, September 8), Madrid (Fiesta de la Comunidad, May 2), Murcia (Día de la Región de Murcia, June 9), La Rioja (Día de La Rioja, June 9), Valencia (Día de la Comunitat Valenciana, October 9), and the city of Ceuta (Día de Ceuta, September 2)

The list of other holidays celebrated by the autonomous communities changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays. Other regional holidays celebrated in both 2006 and 2007 include:

Date English name Spanish name Where celebrated
January 6 Epiphany Día de Reyes or Epifanía del Señor Although not considered a “national” holiday, declared a “regional” holiday in all 17 regions
March 19 Father’s Day San José Castile-La Mancha, Madrid, Murcia and Valencia
moveable Holy Thursday Jueves Santo All regions except Canary Islands, Catalonia and Valencia
moveable Easter Monday Lunes de Pascua Basque Country, Catalonia, Navarra, Valencia
April 23 St. George’s Day and Castile and León Day San Jorge (Aragon and Catalonia), Día de Castilla y León (Castile and León) Aragon, Catalonia, Castile and León
June 24 St. John’s Day Sant Joan (Catalan) Catalonia
July 25 St. James Day Santiago Apostol Basque Country, Galicia
September 8 Covadonga and GuadalupeDay Día de Asturias y Extremadura Asturias, Extremadura
December 26 St. Stephen’s Day San Esteban or Segundo día de Navidad Balearic Islands, Catalonia
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Mark Nolan’s Podcast

PHP Code Snippets Powered By :
Skip to content